I emailed Amazon. (re: #amazonfail)

13Apr09

I’m sure many of you have heard about Amazon.com’s new policy regarding “adult” books. I was mad, so I emailed them. And they emailed me back.

Subject: From a future librarian
As a future librarian (I will receive my MLIS in May of 2010), I am disgusted by your “policy” of de-ranking “adult” books. I am extremely disappointed in Amazon. This policy goes against intellectual freedom in every way. Even if you change it back, which would be wise, I will never purchase items from your site again.

Amanda Lanyon-LeSage

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Amazon.com.

This is an embarrassing and ham-fisted cataloging error for a company that prides itself on offering complete selection.

It has been misreported that the issue was limited to Gay & Lesbian themed titles – in fact, it impacted 57,310 books in a number of broad categories such as Health, Mind & Body, Reproductive & Sexual Medicine, and Erotica. This problem impacted books not just in the United States but globally. It affected not just sales rank but also had the effect of removing the books from Amazon’s main product search.

Many books have now been fixed and we’re in the process of fixing the remainder as quickly as possible, and we intend to implement new measures to make this kind of accident less likely to occur in the future.

Thanks for contacting us. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Customer Service Department
Amazon.com

DID THEY JUST ADMIT THEY MADE A MISTAKE???

One Response to “I emailed Amazon. (re: #amazonfail)”

  1. 1 Anonymous

    Since this type of de-ranking started in February, the only error Amazon made was to do a whole lump of them at once so that many more people noticed and then brought it to the public’s attention. In my opinion, any such statements by Amazon personnel are lies.


Leave a Reply

