The Botany of Desire: A Plants’-Eye View of the World by Michael Pollan

04Feb07

One of my professors last semester suggested this book. Since I loved the professor (Ken Jensen), I bought the book the next day.

If you are even remotely interested in agriculture, botany, plants, eating, farming, et cetera, you have to read this book. I’ll admit, by the end of each chapter, I was ready for another topic, but that’s okay. It means that Pollan was really doing his research. He exhausts each plant he covers (Apples, Marijuana, Potatoes, and Corn), and now my brain is filled with random, weird trivia that I can spout at will.

You’ll never think of Johnny Appleseed the same way again. You’ll want to go out and support your local pot dealer. You’ll crave potatoes (but some weird blue variety from Peru). You’ll hate corn with a passion (it’s making us fat). Pollan is very convincing.

He’s also a great writer. This book is so funny! I didn’t think I would find myself laughing out loud whilst reading a book about agriculture, but there you have it. I liked this book so much that I asked for his other book about food, The Omnivore’s Dilemma, for Christmas. I haven’t read that one yet, but I’ll post the review on here when I do.

Read this book: it makes you realize why certain plants make you desire, and why you desire certain plants.
****

One Response to “The Botany of Desire: A Plants’-Eye View of the World by Michael Pollan”


Leave a Reply

