Spook: Science Tackles The Afterlife by Mary Roach

09Jan07

I read Mary Roach’s other fantastic book, Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers, last year. When I heard about her new venture into ghosts, mediums, and ectoplasm, I immediately put it on my wishlist for Christmas.
Spook manages to have fun with the topic at hand: what happens after people die. I often found myself reading portions aloud to whomever happened to be around, or snorting various liquids out my nose. Roach manages to be witty and smart AND silly. Spook had footnotes on subjects like how to make cows stare at you.
I just wish, like I wished with Stiff, was that she discussed fewer topics with greater depth. Don’t get me wrong, I liked Spook, but by the end, I was a little tired with having to learn more peoples’ names, acronyms, and organizations for each chapter. I know that this book is intended for a lay audience, but the scientist in me really wanted more.
****

No Responses Yet to “Spook: Science Tackles The Afterlife by Mary Roach”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

